The Serenity Pray-er...

Mystic Micro-Gospels; small spiritual stories in and around my neighborhood in Southeast CT

In Cathy's office there hangs a framed poster of Julian of Norwich, by Cynthia Large. I ponder it often during the resting times and interstitial moments in our conversations about the shelter. Thorny issues... they sting and hurt, and our back and forth chatter helps to chart a way ahead, but never an easy one. Over us, she floats serenely above the floor of her anchoress cell... her prayerful posture illuminated by natural light from the window, brilliant in her red frock.


There is so much hope in what she has passed to us... "What is impossible to you is not impossible to me. I shall keep my word in all things and I shall make all things well." It's no wonder she floats.


A cleric has opened the window behind her, looking in. She is undisturbed; he is too. He seems like me, expressionless, wondering... he too was probably caught up in the tension of balancing the impossible; the poor and suffering of Norwich... he checks in on her between urgent work. and for a while, the worries of the day melt away while he contemplates... like me... this holy, floating woman.


Come Lord... make all things well... make these people well….